The 20th annual Choteau Ranch Rodeo, which features teams of area ranchers pitted against local livestock, is set for Sept. 4, with a Calcutta auction at noon and scramble action starting at 1 p.m. at the Choteau rodeo grounds.

This year, the teams will compete in two sections of action. The first section will be team penning. The second section will be a “scramble” of three combined events — doctoring, steer mugging/tying and trailer loading.

In the scramble, each team will have eight minutes to accomplish all three tasks. Three animals will be placed in the arena for each team, and the teams must use all three animals in the tasks. The events can be done in any order, and the timer stops when all three tasks are done. Teams that don’t accomplish all three tasks will not receive a time.

The team with the fastest cumulative time will win the rodeo, and the final times will include both the penning and scramble times.

Local volunteers put on the ranch rodeo, and this year’s event has received support from many Choteau and area businesses. All proceeds raised during this event are earmarked for local civic projects.

Admission is $5 per person, with children under 5 admitted free of charge. \A “candy bar race” for little kids will also be held.

The Teton CattleWomen will be selling concessions, according to Wendy Martin, club president. They will have the traditional fare of burgers and hotdogs and non-alcoholic drinks. Coolers are welcome.

Custom leather-worker Sparky Wallace will have a booth with inventory from his Cow Camp Supply business open for shoppers. Kande Yeager of Dirt In The Frame Photography will be photographing the 2021 ranch rodeo and will have beautiful photos from past ranch rodeos for sale.

New this year, the CattleWomen are selling tickets for “cow pie bingo.” Chances will be sold for $10 per square and there will be 225 squares marked off. The cow will be put into the field with the grid at 1 p.m. on the day of the ranch rodeo. The winner of the cash pot will be the person who holds the number of the square that the majority of the first “cow pie” lands on. Square holders need not be present to win.

Tickets can be purchased in advance at the Polished Day Spa in Choteau or from CattleWomen member Kylee Dellwo at 406-590-8013 or at the rodeo before 1 p.m.

Staff for the rodeo will include Curt Rasmussen as announcer and Calcutta auctioneer, Ann Hall as the timer and Jess Kropp as the stock contractor.

Teams consist of four to five members and all have to be on horseback. Cash and prizes will be awarded to the top three placers and prizes only to the fourth placers. Special awards will also given for: best all-around cowgirl and cowboy, best all-around horse and best roper. The Top Hand will be honored with the B.J. Johnson Memorial award, and the Rough Rider award will be given in memory of Luke Collins.

Award sponsors are: first place, Foothills Veterinary Service, Bouma Truck Sales and Cenex-Harvest States; second place, Diamond 4D Ranch; third place, Hodgskiss Seed; fourth place, Breen Oil and Tire Co. and Front Range Supply.

Sponsors for the special prizes are: All Around Cowgirl, East Slope Veterinary Service and Hair of the Dog Grooming; All-Around Cowboy, Opportunity Bank of Montana; All-Around Horse, Grizzly Saddlery; Top Hand/B.J. Johnson Memorial Award, Flying U Ranch and the Johnson family; Best Roper: Cow Camp Supply; Rough Rider/Luke Collins Memorial, the Collins family.

For more information, call Lauren Long at 590-3876.

This year’s teams and members (tentatively) are:

•Bar 7 U — Rob Burdick, Cort Burdick, Pete Henderson, Tregg Olson and Marshall Willekes.

•Hollow Top Ranch — Clay Clark, Connor Lambert and Travis Edmonson.

•Farmington Flats — Curt Rasmussen, Quincy Rasmussen and Gus Lee.

•Salmond Ranch — Jeff Salmond, Mark Salmond, Ben Neal, Jason Levine and Jere Long.

•Gypsy Basin Cattle Co — Silas Clark, Jere VanDenBos, Matt Crabb, Jess Kropp and Don Thompson.

•Browntown Team — Frid England, Roy St. Goddard, Manny Boggs and Darrell Hall.

•Johnson Ranch — Andrew Johnson, Marvin Johnson and Tim Hitchcock.

•The A Team — Quentin McCauley, Bruce Neal, Jake Smeltzer, Colter Davis and Chase Erickson.

•The Other Guys — Jorden Briden, Gus Eaglespeaker, Austin Stoltz, Dillon Monroe and Dave Back.

•Harmon Quarter Horses — Danny Campbell, Remington Campbell, Lane Harmon, Dell Harmon and Chad Scarborough.

•Morris Ranch — Leo Tash, Tucker Morris, Jace Harvie, Shance Hall and Ritchie Laverdure.

•Sun River Team — Jason Weaver, Matt Nisley, Dusty Weaver, Mike Wipf and Ben Anderson.

•Rumney Ranch — Beau Michaels and others.