The U.S. Department of Agriculture on Nov. 3 began mailing ballots for the Farm Service Agency (FSA) county and urban county committee elections to all eligible agricultural producers and private landowners across the country.

In Teton County, Kelly DeBruycker of Fairfield is running unopposed to represent the Fairfield Local Administrative Area (LAA) on the Teton County FSA Board. DeBruycker is running for a three-year term and will replace Levi Ostberg, who did not seek reelection because of an eligibility issue.

The USDA is sending out about 551 ballots to eligible voters in the local election. DeBruycker will take office on Jan. 1.

Others serving on the board are Will Snodgrass, representing the Choteau/Bynum/Pendroy LAA and Chad Doheny, representing the Dutton/Power LAA.

FSA committee members make important decisions about how federal farm programs are administered locally. To be counted, producers and landowners must return ballots to their local FSA county office or mail the ballots with a postmark by Dec. 6. 

Producers must participate or cooperate in an FSA program to be eligible to vote in the county committee election. A cooperating producer is someone who has provided information about their farming or ranching operation but may not have applied or received FSA program benefits. Also, for county committee elections, producers who are not of legal voting age, but supervise and conduct the farming operations of an entire farm, are eligible to vote.