The Power-Teton County Water and Sewer District is among 14 Montana communities that will share nearly $6.5 million in federal funds through the Montana Department of Commerce’s Community Development Block Grant Program for local infrastructure, housing development and job creation projects.

“These dollars support local Montana communities by building the capacity, resiliency, and resources necessary to maintain strong and vibrant communities,” Department of Commerce Director Tara Rice said.

The grant in Teton County will provide $450,000 to be used in a funding package for the installation of new wells and a chlorination system to provide drinking water for the unincorporated town of Power and for other residents within the Power-Teton County Water and Sewer District.

The Department of Commerce’s CDBG Program provides funding and technical assistance to support local governments as they plan for future growth and development, develop specific plans for individual projects and address community needs. For more information, visit the department’s website at