The Judicial Nomination Commission has submitted three candidates — Stephen R. Brown, Dana Elias Pepper and Anna Margret Stradley — to Chief Justice Mike McGrath of the Montana Supreme Court for consideration for appointment as associate water judge for the Montana Water Court.

Stradley, who graduated from Choteau High School in 1993, has worked for the Water Court since 2006 and is currently a senior water master.

The Commission’s action follows the close of a 30-day public comment period. Before recommending the nominees to Chief Justice McGrath, Commission members interviewed the applicants. The person appointed by the Chief Justice is subject to Senate confirmation during the 2019 legislative session. If confirmed, the appointee will serve for the remainder of the term ending June 30, 2020.

Judicial Nomination Commission members are District Judge John C. Brown of Bozeman; Janice Bishop of Missoula, Karl Englund of Missoula, Elizabeth Halverson of Billings; Hal Harper of Helena; Lane Larson of Billings; and Nancy Zadick of Great Falls.